Greater Montréal Real Estate Board

Members Access (Reserved Section)

Login


Press Room

Press Releases

2018-2019 Provincial Budget: The GMREB Welcomes the Measures Related to Real Estate and Housing

The Greater Montréal Real Estate Board (GMREB) has examined the provincial budget tabled yesterday by Finance Minister Carlos Leitão, and is pleased with all of the government’s measures related to real estate and housing.

The GMREB particularly welcomes the measures that promote homeownership and encourage debt reduction for first-time buyers. The introduction of a non-refundable tax credit for the purchase of a first home is one of these measures.

Thus, starting in 2018, eligible first-time buyers will be able to take advantage of a tax deduction of $5,000 to help defray the costs of incidental expenses not covered by a mortgage, such as inspection fees, property transfer taxes, notary fees and moving expenses. Combined with the federal tax credit, the Québec tax credit could allow eligible Québec buyers to obtain up to $1,376 in tax relief following the purchase of their first home ($750 through the Québec tax credit, $626 through the federal tax credit).

The GMREB is also pleased with the extension of the RénoVert refundable tax credit, a program that provides assistance equal to 20% of eligible residential renovation expenses that exceed $2,500.

The March 2018 Québec Economic Plan also provides for an investment of $103.9 million reserved for the City of Montréal for the construction of affordable housing units, residential adaptations for persons with disabilities and housing renovations in rundown residential areas. This amount represents 37% of the total investment in those three programs.

The GMREB welcomes the reduction in the tax rate for Québec’s SMEs, a measure that may affect several real estate brokers and agencies. The March 2018 Québec Economic Plan provides for a gradual reduction over three years from 8% to 4% in the tax rate of SMEs in the service and construction sectors, as of today. The rate will be reduced by 1 percentage point per year to 4% as of January 1, 2021. The GMREB recommends that brokers and agencies verify the tax impact that this measure may have on their organization with their financial adviser.

However, while these measures do represent additional financial assistance and are well received, the GMREB believes that they will have only a modest impact on improving homeownership.

Finally, although the federal government, as well as provincial and local governments in some Canadian cities have introduced measures to balance the real estate market, including to limit the impact of real estate investments by Canadian non-resident buyers, the analysis carried out by Québec’s Department of Finance concludes that the real estate market in Québec is balanced. The vast majority of real estate transactions are concluded by residents of the province and the presence of foreign buyers remains limited. The moderate increase in housing prices reflects the good economic situation of Québec households.

For detailed information about the Québec budget, click here.

Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal

Accès Membres (Section réservée)

Accéder


Salle de presse

Communiqués de presse

Budget provincial 2018-2019 : la CIGM salue les mesures touchant l’immobilier et l’habitation

La Chambre immobilière du Grand Montréal (CIGM) a pris connaissance du budget provincial déposé hier par le ministre des Finances, Carlos Leitão. La CIGM accueille favorablement l’ensemble des mesures proposées par le gouvernement en matière d’immobilier et d’habitation.

La CIGM salue particulièrement les mesures favorisant l’accès à la propriété et encourageant la réduction de l’endettement des premiers acheteurs. L’instauration d’un crédit d’impôt non remboursable pour l’achat d’une première habitation fait partie de ces mesures.

Ainsi, les premiers acheteurs admissibles pourront profiter à compter de 2018 d’une déduction fiscale de 5 000 $ afin de reconnaître les différents frais payés non inclus dans l’hypothèque, tels que les frais d’inspection, les droits de mutation immobilière, les honoraires du notaire et les frais de déménagement. Combiné au crédit d’impôt fédéral, le crédit d’impôt du Québec pourrait permettre aux acheteurs québécois admissibles d’obtenir jusqu’à 1 376 $ d’allègement fiscal à la suite de l’achat de leur première habitation (750 $ par le crédit d’impôt du Québec, 626 $ par le crédit d’impôt du fédéral).

La CIGM souligne également la prolongation du crédit remboursable d’impôt RénoVert, un programme qui offre une aide correspondant à 20 % des dépenses de rénovation résidentielle admissibles qui excèdent 2 500 $.

Le Plan économique du Québec de mars 2018 prévoit également un investissement de 103,9 millions de dollars réservés à la Ville de Montréal pour la construction de logements abordables, à l’adaptation de domicile pour les personnes handicapées et à la rénovation de logements dans les secteurs résidentiels dégradés, ce qui représente une part équivalente à 37 % de l’ensemble des investissements pour ces trois programmes.

La CIGM salue la réduction du taux d’imposition des PME québécoises, une mesure qui pourrait toucher plusieurs courtiers et agences immobilières de notre organisation. Le Plan économique du Québec de mars 2018 prévoit une réduction graduelle de 8 % à 4 % sur 3 ans du taux d’imposition des PME des secteurs des services et de la construction, et ce, à compter d’aujourd’hui. Le taux sera réduit de 1 point de pourcentage par année pour atteindre 4 % au 1er janvier 2021. La CIGM recommande aux courtiers et agences de vérifier l’impact fiscal que cette mesure pourrait avoir sur leur organisation avec leur conseiller financier.

Bien que ces mesures représentent de l’aide financière additionnelle et qu’elles soient bien accueillies, la CIGM estime qu’elles auront toutefois qu’un impact modeste sur l’amélioration de l’accès à la propriété.

Finalement, bien que le gouvernement fédéral ainsi que les gouvernements provinciaux et locaux de certaines villes canadiennes aient introduit des mesures visant à équilibrer le marché immobilier, entre autres pour limiter les répercussions prononcées des investissements immobiliers d’acheteurs non-résidents canadiens, l’analyse effectuée par le ministère des Finances du Québec mène à la conclusion que le marché immobilier au Québec est équilibré. La grande majorité des transactions immobilières est effectuée par des résidents de la province et la présence des acheteurs étrangers reste limitée. La croissance modérée des prix reflète la bonne situation économique des ménages québécois.

Pour consulter le budget provincial en détail, cliquez ici.